Restoring Files using Previous Versions

Modified on Mon, 11 Apr 2022 at 03:29 PM

Previous Versions takes a snapshots of Shares and your My Documents folder throughout the day. You can restore files and folders from this function yourself. It is useful if you have accidently deleted a file, or overwritten/changed the wrong file.


The amount of time you can go back varies depending on available storage space, but it is common to be able to go back a month in time.


To restore files:


  • Locate the folder that holds the document you would like to recover.
  • Right click in blank space (so not onto an actual file) if the file was deleted - or on the actual document if you need to recover from an earlier time and click Properties
  • Select the Previous Version tab.


image


  • In the "File versions" list, select a version you would like to restore. Click the "Open" button to check out the contents.
  • To quickly restore the previous version, click on the Restore button. You will be prompted to overwrite the existing file version if it exists in the same location.


Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons

Feedback sent

We apprciate your effort and will try to fix the article